Knives capable of pikal style?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Fay

Knives capable of pikal style?

Post by Fay »

Hello All,

I'm new to the spyderco forums and spyderco in general. My wife got me a Dragonfly 2 and a Delica 4 for the past 2 Christmas's and I love them very much. I'm a huge fan of the simplicity of the back lock and I carry my Delica most days I don't have a leatherman for work in the lab.

Working in the lab I can't take a firearm due to pressurized gas cylinders which would turn very ugly for a lot of people if they get punctured. I would like a folding knife to be able to use in the lab and flex into some self defense if needed since I can't carry a firearm, and a folder is easier to conceal regularly and physiologically in my environment.

I've taken some basic martial arts and the pikal style of using a knife for defense makes a lot of sense to me. I've gotten good enough with my delica to be able to swap between grips (FGEU, FG, RGEO, RGEI) using the divot in the clip as a rotation point. The Delica point doesn't really end up in the right place when held in RGEI however. So, I've been looking at knives I could carry in these situations that's more pikal in nature and it seems like there are some purpose built knifes but also some knives I could flex into this role if the grip is fairly neutral (straight rather than curved).

I've been looking at the Spyderco P'Kal and Lil Temperance 3. Are there any other spyderco blades I should be looking at for RGEI work that could flex into EDC? Does anyone have an image of the Lil Temperance 3 in a RGEI grip? None of the reviews I've seen never show that.
Michael Janich

Re: Knives capable of pikal style?

Post by Michael Janich »

Dear Fay:

Welcome to the Spyderco Forum.