Think i want a Military, but which one?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ncvarmint

Think i want a Military, but which one?

Post by ncvarmint »

I have these already,
Gayle bradley 2
Sage 1
Black/black para 2
Blurple para 2
Jade para 2
And a CF M4 on the way
I want to try a military but cant decide on the KW cts 204p or the blurple s110v. I am not an expert on sharpening but have a sharpmaker and have sharpened the s30v blade okay.
Thanks
SpyderNut

Re: Think i want a Military, but which one?

Post by SpyderNut »

The 204p Millie would be a good place to start, IMOH, because of it being a low-maintenance SS and relative ease of re-sharpening. The 52100 Millie would be okay, except you would need to maintain regularly to avoid rust. Of course, the 110V Millie would be a superb choice also, as it would be excellent for edge-holding and low maintenance. There's not a bad choice in the bunch, even if you "settled" for the good ol' S30V Millie. ;)
:spyder: -Michael

"...as I said before, 'the edge is a wondrous thing', [but] in all of it's qualities, it is still a ghost." - sal
ejames13

Post by ejames13 »

I recommend the KW 204p. I've owned a regular S30V Military, a Cruwear, and now the 204p. This one is my favorite so far. It's also an exclusive, so it won't be around forever. Whereas the S110V is regular production.

204p is a little more difficult than S30V in terms of sharpening, but also better in edge retention. I've never owned S110V, but from what I understand it is much more difficult to sharpen, particularly with a Sharpmaker.
awa54

Post by awa54 »

I'd actually rate all three of the mentioned steels as fairly easy to sharpen, especially when using the Sharpmaker, 204P and S30V take very nice polished edges, S110V works best for me with a coarser final finish, all three are very respectable performers, though S30V may be the least well suited to a big rugged knife like the Military.