DO the rods on your SharpMaker move or do they fit tight?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Sir Joe

DO the rods on your SharpMaker move or do they fit tight?

Post by Sir Joe »

Hi guys,

I have received the SharpMaker and started experimenting. I am pleased with the results, I was able to bring knives to cutting paper level, which for being a total beginner is a good result for me. I would not expect being already able to reach the popping hair level.
But, I am having problems because the rods move quite a lot, or it seems a lot to me.
I was expecting them to stay still, very tight fixed in the hole. But when I sharpen the rods move towards me, and when I place again the knife at the top of the rod the rod is pushed away from me.
This makes the sharpening more difficult, specially when using the flat side of the rods: I have to be slow and pay lot of attention that the knife ic really placed on the whole surface (1m) of the rod. If it would be more tight, it would be easier to keep the knife attached to the rod.

Is this normal? Are your SharpMaker also so? :confused:
Evil D

Re: DO the rods on your SharpMaker move or do they fit tight?

Post by Evil D »

Seems normal to me, or at least mine does the same if I try to wiggle the stone from the top. But, if you're pressing straight down into the stone, they shouldn't move when actually making passes. If they do, I'd double check that you aren't doing something wrong. I'm also fairly new to using the SM, but I haven't had any issues with the stone moving while actually sharpening. Also make sure you aren't using too much pressure in general, you want a very light tough when using the SM, that could be your problem.
vlawson

Post by vlawson »

All of the above...

I put all four of my rods, in all the holes, in all directions possible one evening (snicker snicker...)