Thank God I'm Not on the Benchmade Forums

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
kennethsime

Thank God I'm Not on the Benchmade Forums

Post by kennethsime »

First off, let me say that I have some experience in retail cutlery. I've sold Benchmades, Spydercos, and quite a few other brands, and I've consistently been pleased with offerings from each.

I particularly appreciate Bob Lum's designs for Benchmade, and that's what led me to investigate if there were any special editions of the BM 746 Mini-Onslaught around online (154CM just isn't special enough).

That said: until today I had no idea that Benchmade hosted a forum, and I almost wish I had never seen it. The amount of ignorance, $h*+ talking, reviews by irreverent amateurs showing no respect for incredibly talented designers/custom knifemakers, and general internet trollery astound me.

I guess I could just say, thanks guys, for making the Syderco Forums a fun and valuable place to hang around. But I had to vent.
I'm happiest with Micarta and Tool Steel.

Top four in rotation: K390 + GCM PM2, ZCarta Shaman, Crucarta PM2, K390 + GCM Straight Spine Stretch.
Blerv

Post by Blerv »

We are glad you like our place :) . Welcome to the forums.

My brief times at the Benchmade forums have been pleasant. Seems quite a few Spydie fans even. Generally though what you described is the result of the Internet and the joy of anonymity. We even experience it here but pride ourselves in trying remaining civil. There are definitely worst forums out there.

The troll vs fanboy fight will rage on long after we are all gone. It's annoying but compare to the old days of gauntlets and blood feuds I guess it could be worse ;) .
Evil D

Post by Evil D »

This is probably the most civilized forum i'm part of, of any hobby i'm into.
All SE all the time since 2017
~David
dbcad

Post by dbcad »

"We all speak knife"
Charlie

" Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler."