You got your Ceramic Mule. How you gonna sharpen it?

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
Bolster

You got your Ceramic Mule. How you gonna sharpen it?

Post by Bolster »

Let's talk sharpening strategies for the HIC Mule.
Steel novice who self-identifies as a steel expert. Proud M.N.O.S.D. member 0003. Spydie Steels: 4V, 15V, 20CV, AEB-L, AUS6, Cru-Wear, HAP40, K294, K390, M4, Magnacut, S110V, S30V, S35VN, S45VN, SPY27, SRS13, T15, VG10, XHP, ZWear, ZDP189
yablanowitz

Re: You got your Ceramic Mule. How you gonna sharpen it?

Post by yablanowitz »

I plan to do the same thing I always do, just slower. (I have been freehanding on diamond hones since 1980.)
Bolster

Post by Bolster »

yablanowitz wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2024 10:30 am
I plan to do the same thing I always do, just slower. (I have been freehanding on diamond hones since 1980.)

For those of us who don't have your usual sharpening procedure memorized... at what grit will you start?
Steel novice who self-identifies as a steel expert. Proud M.N.O.S.D. member 0003. Spydie Steels: 4V, 15V, 20CV, AEB-L, AUS6, Cru-Wear, HAP40, K294, K390, M4, Magnacut, S110V, S30V, S35VN, S45VN, SPY27, SRS13, T15, VG10, XHP, ZWear, ZDP189
kennbr34

Post by kennbr34 »

I got two so I can rub em together

Seriously though, I have diamond plates from 140 up to 9 microns, so I figure that ought to so it. If not, I'll get some diamond lapping film and apply it to the back of the plates, or on some leather backing if I find it needs something spongy.

I think this will be the first knife I forego reprofiling the factory edge on though.
Last edited by kennbr34 on Wed Feb 07, 2024 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
legOFwhat?

Post by legOFwhat? »

legOFwhat? wrote:
Wed Oct 25, 2023 4:25 am
I bought this in preparation of this mule: