EDC recommendation: Native 5 LW – S30V or SPY27?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Skydog

EDC recommendation: Native 5 LW – S30V or SPY27?

Post by Skydog »

Hello – I’m new to the forum and looking for help with choosing a knife. I’ve narrowed it down to the Native 5 Light Weight, but I’m trying to decide between the S30V or the SPY27. This will be for EDC. I’ve always just carried really cheap knives and never paid much attention to the steel, so this is my first attempt at buying a more quality knife. It will also be my first Spyderco. I have little to no experience with maintaining or sharpening knives. Which of these two steels will be easier to maintain and sharpen? And is a Spyderco Sharpmaker a good sharpening system for this knife and for someone with little sharpening experience, or would you suggest something else.

Also, feel free to recommend another knife if this is not a good choice for my first Spyderco and my experience level.

Thank you!
sal

Re: EDC recommendation: Native 5 LW – S30V or SPY27?

Post by sal »

Hi Skydog,

Welcome to our forum.

sal
Coastal

Post by Coastal »

Both S30V and SPY27 are excellent choices for EDC. If it were me I'd get the SPY, but that's because I have so much S30V already, I think it's cool to own a Spyderco proprietary steel, and I like the color of the scales.

The Sharpmaker is an excellent sharpening system, and very easy to use. In my limited experience with SPY 27, I've found it more friendly to sharpen than S30V, but neither pose much of a problem. If you are concerned with ease of sharpening, the Native 5 Salt is available in LC200N, which is much easier to sharpen and virtually rust-free.
Sharp Guy

Post by Sharp Guy »

They're both great IMO. Flip a coin. You might find SPY27 a little easier to sharpen but S30V is pretty easy to touch up on the Sharpmaker once you get the hang of it
Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!
WilliamMunny

Post by WilliamMunny »