Worksharp Belt Sharpeners

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
RugerNurse

Worksharp Belt Sharpeners

Post by RugerNurse »

Anyone have experience with these? Do they work or are they a gimmick? I’ve heard they convex the edge, does that make the edge any stronger or is that only on an actual convex grind?
Quia surrexit Dominus vere, alleluia
TomAiello

Re: Worksharp Belt Sharpeners

Post by TomAiello »

I have been using one for several years. I'm a big fan. It's definitely the fastest way to get a super sharp edge. I use it all the time on scissors (for sewing at work), kitchen knives, EDC knives. The speed is variable, so you don't overdo it and burn the edge, but I've sat there with my hand on the metal of the blade and never actually gotten it very hot anyway.

I haven't noticed them (I own two--one for work and one for home) making the edge any stronger. I guess maybe at a very small scale they are doing that? But in my use, I can't tell the difference (and I do still hand sharpen some knives, so I am getting some comparison).
RugerNurse

Post by RugerNurse »

Thanks, trying to decide if I should pick this up or another angle guided sharpener. I’m still trying to learn to sharpen by hand but want something to fix knives I do something wrong on them haha
vivi

Post by vivi »

as a less expensive alternative (belts are cheaper too), you could try the one I use.

https://www.harborfreight.com/1-in-x-30 ... 58359.html

With certain sales or coupons they get as low as $40.

No edge convexing as they have a hard backing behind the belt.

I use it all the time. It's an incredible time saver. Reprofiling knives in under 5 minutes VS an hour by hand.
:unicorn
RugerNurse

Post by RugerNurse »

I guess the other option is the Worksharp Precision Pro vs the Edge Pro Apex 3. They are both the same price.
prndltech

Post by prndltech »