M398 Mule Blade Chips

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
akennyd

M398 Mule Blade Chips

Post by akennyd »

Hello all,

I've been using this M398 Mule for a few months now and the edge retention is awesome but the blade chips very easily. I have been cutting every cardboard box I can get my hands on with it and it will cut them forever without dulling but was looking closely at the blade one day and realized it has bad chips in it. I would not say that I have done anything abusive that would lead to chipping like this so I was very surprised when I noticed them. I have not sharpened the blade but I have stropped it once to restore the razor sharpness. I did not notice any chipping at that time.

Best regards,
Kenny
Attachments
IMG_1041.jpg
IMG_1040.jpg
IMG_1039.jpg
Best Regards,
Kenny

Manix 2 CPM S30V G-10, M398 Mule :bug-red-white
standy99

Re: M398 Mule Blade Chips

Post by standy99 »

Looks more like a burr rolled at the front…wouldn’t call them chips, and with a factory edge that hasn’t been sharpened.

A few months without sharpening I think your doing good, as that’s not that bad…
Im a vegetarian as technically cows are made of grass and water.
akennyd

Post by akennyd »

No... not rolled at all... they're all chips. Here are more pictures from both sides. Some of the chips do reflect light but it is very hard to take a picture of them without reflections.

Best regards,
Kenny
Attachments
IMG_1044.jpg
IMG_1043.jpg
IMG_1042.jpg
Best Regards,
Kenny

kennbr34

Post by kennbr34 »

Cardboard can hide a lot of nasty little surprises, so I wouldn't be surprised if you might have hit some inclusions that contaminated the pulp.

Can you reprofile it? I would probably take it to 20 degrees per side, or at least micro bevel it. M398 did come in pretty low in toughness on knifesteelnerds blog
swknight

Post by swknight »

Thanks for posting all 3 of you. MUCH appreciate the information...
Traditional.Sharpening

Post by Traditional.Sharpening »