Maxamet Blade Finishes

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
HolySteel

Maxamet Blade Finishes

Post by HolySteel »

Sage 1 Maxamet just arrived. I was surprised that the blade finish of this one, as well as the ParaMilitary 2, is described as 'Satin'. There must be a lot of leeway in that description.

Zipper

Re: Maxamet Blade Finishes

Post by Zipper »

I think you are right.
I’m not a professional metal worker, so I don’t pretend to be an authority. In my mind I think of ‘satin’ as the finish short of ‘polished’. I am sure our resident metal workers will chime in and correct me.
Are both those blades Maxamet. If they are, it highlights the difference in technique and tools between Golden and Taichung.
It’s amazing how much sandwash, beadblast and stonewash hide imperfections. I suppose that is why with cost in mind, they are popular finishes in production knives and give a certain consistency across a product range.
JSumm

Post by JSumm »

If that is a Maxamet PM2 I believe all the Golden Maxamet models were stonewash finished. Some dealer specs on the PM2 Maxamet say satin which is incorrect. Some dealers say stonewash which is correct.

Now, I did just compare the Cruwear PM2 and the Sage 5 LW and both of those satin finishes have grind marks, but you could say the Taichung is a little more defined or visable.
- Jeff
May your feet be warm and dry and your throat warm with whiskey. A knife in hand or in the sock band.
MNOSD Member #0005
HolySteel

Post by HolySteel »

JSumm wrote:
Thu Jul 13, 2023 2:43 pm
If that is a Maxamet PM2 I believe all the Golden Maxamet models were stonewash finished. Some dealer specs on the PM2 Maxamet say satin which is incorrect. Some dealers say stonewash which is correct.

Now, I did just compare the Cruwear PM2 and the Sage 5 LW and both of those satin finishes have grind marks, but you could say the Taichung is a little more defined or visable.