Sharpening for a complete novice

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
TomahawkT10

Sharpening for a complete novice

Post by TomahawkT10 »

:usflag

Hi all,

I think I’m going to need to sharpen some of my knives soon and I’ve never done it before. I want to get the proper equipment to do it properly and not scratch up the blade and do a bad job. I’d like to put an edge as close to factory as I can back on my knives.

Does anyone have any advice on what equipment to buy which is the most fool proof and any guides which are good to read? What methods to do people use and what grit stones etc?

I have some cheap knives I could practice on first.

Thanks everyone.
VooDooChild

Re: Sharpening for a complete novice

Post by VooDooChild »

Spyderco sharpmaker.
Easy to use, comes with instructions and a dvd.
"Rome's greatest contribution to mathematics was the killing of Archimedes."
Jerome Howard

Post by Jerome Howard »

VooDooChild wrote:
Sat Apr 08, 2023 5:17 pm
Spyderco sharpmaker.
Easy to use, comes with instructions and a dvd.
This.
elena86

Post by elena86 »

It depends how far do you want to go. For maintenance and regularly touchups a Spyderco Sharpmaker is enough but for reprofiling and more serious sharpening you need a sharpening system unless you want to learn how to hand sharpen. The system I recommend is Wicked Edge.
Marius

" A mind all logic is like a knife all blade. It makes the hand bleed that uses it "
( Rabindranath Tagore )

Proud member of the old school spyderedge nation :bug-white-red
Wartstein

Post by Wartstein »

Another vote for the sharpmaker.

You can watch the instructuonal vid it comes with HERE: https://youtu.be/5LBDnJv5B58

If you don't let your knives get real dull the brown and white rods it comes with work perfectly well.
Für really giving a knife a new edge or if you want a real toothy edge I'd get additional CBN or diamond rods.