On the fence: Cruwear PM2, S45VN PM2...a couple questions before pulling trigger

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Pcexbird

On the fence: Cruwear PM2, S45VN PM2...a couple questions before pulling trigger

Post by Pcexbird »

I've finally decided on the Paramilitary 2.

So it's come down to either to Paramilitary 2 in Cruwear or in S45VN...

I worry about the rare possibility of chipping with S45VN...is chipping of the blade much less common on the Cruwear blades? Is there any reason the Cruwear seems to be a bit more money; even more so than the S45VN steel version which appears in huge quantities of of Paramilitary 2's?

Is there any true advantage to purchasing the PM2 in Cruwear instead of the PM2 in S45VN? Disadvantages?

I'm very new to Spyderco and apologize for the newbie question I've been saving a long time to get a knife.

P.S. I do live in coastal south Florida but do not go out on the saltwater, boat, beach or fish at all. Not sure if corrosion resistance alone would be a deal breaker on the Cruwear. I've decided 100% on the Paramilitary 2 but it's just down to picking the right blade steel. I am also inexperienced (but learning) in sharpening but have a Sharpsmaker on order. Hope this helps.

Any advice is much appreciated.
E|D|C
:respect Cold Steel Tuff-Lite
:cyclone Case XX 5finn Fixed Blade
:flashlight LetmY 18650/UV395/1kLm Flashlight
TkoK83Spy

Re: On the fence: Cruwear PM2, S45VN PM2...a couple questions before pulling trigger

Post by TkoK83Spy »

DLT Trading has the PM2 in Cruwear available right now for a great price! I doubt you'd be able to tell a difference between the two steels in use or sharpening. I'm not sure on the corrosion side of things, though Cruwear is VERY POPULAR around here and I haven't read any complaints about rust.

https://www.dlttrading.com/spyderco-par ... wear-blade
15 :bug-red 's in 10 different steels
1 - Bradford Guardian 3 / Vanadis 4E Wharnie
1 - Monterey Bay Knives Slayback Flipper / ZDP 189