Dealing with high humidity

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Josh Crutchley

Dealing with high humidity

Post by Josh Crutchley »

It's been a very humid week in the Great Lakes region where I live. I thought my knives where doing good, that is until today when I got out my Ukpk in BD1N. There's a small section on both sides that has red rust spots.
WIN_20210713_13_06_31_Pro.jpg
WIN_20210713_13_04_28_Pro.jpg
After finding that I decided to check my other knives and found my PM2 Maxamet with pitting and surface rust. I don't remember cutting anything corrosive, it's just a small area that looks like a smudge. This finding made me pull out my usb microscope to see how bad the pitting was.
WIN_20210713_13_13_35_Pro.jpg
I also checked out my other knives and found rust starting on my CTS-XHP Chap. The blade looks corrosion free to the naked eye but under the microscope you can see it starting.
WIN_20210713_13_33_13_Pro.jpg
I'm new to knife collecting so this is the first time its happened and I'm not sure what's the best course of action. I have a few different oils(vegtable,mineral,3in1,wd40,lansky honing oil) but nothing specifically for this. I would prefer it to be non-toxic/food safe so I don't have to clean it before use. Anyone have advice on rust prevention in humid climates?
The Meat man

Re: Dealing with high humidity

Post by The Meat man »

I most often use mineral oil. Or sometimes Frog Lube.
- Connor

"What is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?"
JonLeBlanc

Post by JonLeBlanc »

You might try Tuf-Glide; it works pretty well for me and I have a number of knives in very hot steels and I live in high-humidity as well.
My collection so far: 52100 Military (2); 52100 PM2 (2); 52100 Para3; Stretch2 V-Toku; KnifeWorks M4 PM2; BentoBox M390 PM2; BentoBox S90V Military; Police4 K390; S110V PM2; SS Delica AUS-6; Wayne Goddard Sprint VG-10
Wish list: Hundred Pacer; Sliverax; Mantra; 52100 PM2 SE; Kapara
Danke