Recs for Self Defense while running/biking?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
OhBuoyancy

Recs for Self Defense while running/biking?

Post by OhBuoyancy »

Good morning everyone! I'm new to the knife world but have already gotten quite obsessed. I currently EDC a Civivi Ortis but I NEED a Spyderco (I'm sure you understand).
I often run or bike alone in fairly secluded areas and for some reason my family worries about my safety, something to do with me being a woman probably. Personally, I worry more about wildlife than interaction with other humans. I usually carry pepper spray but that doesn't satisfy this and this sounds like a good excuse to buy a knife.
I'm thinking something in the salt series because it will get wet in my pocket from sweat and I live in a humid area. Small and lightweight are of course important as well. I'd also like it to be scary looking :D Oh, and we have that 3" blade law here, though my Civivi is bigger than that. I like the Dragonfly for looks and size but it's not very scary looking.

There is a gun and knife show coming here next weekend. I've never been to one so I'm wondering if it would be worth waiting for to pick up a knife there (or just check them out in person before buying elsewhere), or should I just go ahead an order online. I'm aware of the seconds sale so if I'm able to grab something from that I will, terrible luck with the site yesterday.
Michael Janich

Re: Recs for Self Defense while running/biking?

Post by Michael Janich »

Hey, OhBuoyancy:

For something corrosion resistant and intimidating with a sub-3-inch blade, the Tasman Salt would be best. A Tasman Salt and some training in knife tactics would be even better.

Stay safe,

Mike
VooDooChild

Post by VooDooChild »

There is also the wharncliffe salt, which according to spydercos website has a 2.9 inch blade length. This gets my vote.

There is also a dragonfly wharncliffe which is awesome but its not a salt.