Easy knife sharpener for beginner

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ATC729

Easy knife sharpener for beginner

Post by ATC729 »

I'm pretty new to knives and I have next to zero experience with sharpening. What is an easy and fairly inexpensive sharpener to start with? I have considered the Sharpmaker and the Lansky system. Any other suggestions?
krsmitty

Re: Easy knife sharpener for beginner

Post by krsmitty »

I started with a Lansky system and them moved to the sharpmaker. Depending on how dull/bad the blade is...I start with the Lansky and then use the sharpmaker for final touches and sharpening as needed.

You can go to youtube and do a search on sharpeners and find what seems like 100's of them. For now, I stick with the sharpmaker...easiest to use for me.
soc_monki

Post by soc_monki »

I have both. I prefer the sharpmaker, but the lansky is better for reprofiling edges. Although the sharpmaker is no slouch with the diamond rods, it takes longer. Less fiddly though.

If you could only have one? Sharpmaker.
:respect Spyderco : Resilience, Tenacious, Persistence, Manix 2 G10, Para 3 G10, Para 3 LW, Paramilitary 2,
BBS Paramilitary 2, Amalgam, Native Chief, Blade HQ Manix 2 XL, S30V Shaman, Gayle Bradley 2, DLC M4 Shaman, Magnitude, Z Wear Shaman, DLC S30V Shaman, Stretch 2, Kapara, CF/S90V Native Chief, Endela, K390 Endura, DLT 20cv Zome Endela x 2, Police 4 LW K390, SNK Native Chief, SNK Manix 2 XL, K390 Stretch 2, Stretch 2 XL, K390 Endela
The Meat man

Post by The Meat man »

Definitely recommend the Sharpmaker as the best beginner's sharpening tool.

If you want to go further, I can recommend the Hapstone V7 as a good option for a guided sharpening system.
- Connor

"What is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?"
Sharp Guy

Post by Sharp Guy »

The Meat man wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 10:37 am
Definitely recommend the Sharpmaker as the best beginner's sharpening tool.