Argh!!!! Photobucket!!!!

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
bearfacedkiller

Argh!!!! Photobucket!!!!

Post by bearfacedkiller »

So photobucket has decided to change their terms of service recently. At first I thought that maybe I was just blocked due to using too much bandwidth. None of my photos are showing anymore. After doing a bit of research it appears as though you will now have to pay $400 a year to imbed photos. I have been using photobucket for over 10 years and have thousands of photos embedded in various forums, not just knife forums. None of them will work now and since I will not pay that much they never will again. I am now in the process of moving my photos over to another image hosting site. Luckily they are all backed up on an external hard drive so it wont be too hard. However, I cannot go back through the thousands of post I have made on the forums and update all of the image links so many of my posts are now sort of dead.

This is gonna have widespread effects on the forums and the internet. Stickies and FAQs all over the net are gonna be useless, or at least be devoid of pics. Many blogs will also see an issue here. I remember what happened when anglefire tanked and how frustrating all the dead end internet searches were then. This is gonna be almost as bad. A lot of people use photobucket.

Is photobucket trying to deliberately self destruct or are they so in need of money that they need to monetize more? Nobody is gonna pay that amount. Their service has already been slowly declining for years and now on top of the decline in quality they also want more money? The pages are so bogged down with ads at this point. Isn't that were their money comes from? Isn't putting up with all those ads the price I pay for the service?