EDC a Sprint Run Collector's Club and Compression lock question

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
DaButha

EDC a Sprint Run Collector's Club and Compression lock question

Post by DaButha »

I'm brandie new around here, and I'm kinda excited. I got my first Spyderco, and it's a Blue Para 2, Collector's Club model.

I got it for several reasons:

1. Blue is my favorite color.
2. I've wanted a para 2 since I've seen them.
3. M390 steel seems incredible. (I'm used to 154CM)
4. I got my favorite (and my anniversary date) number as the serial number, #17.

Like most folks around here, I have a couple knives that I edc. But, I'm wondering how "insane" or what-not folks would consider edcing this knife.

As an aside, I have two more questions: One the compression lock is already at 50%. I'm new to this lock. Is this normal?

And lastly, does anybody know if the blue g10 fades? If so, anybody got pics? I don't mind it fading. I'm just curious.

Thanks in advance for your answers.
The Deacon

Post by The Deacon »

Some would cry at the idea of you using it, some would say that not using it would be a crime. I'm a collector, so I do have my safe queens, but I also "EDC", or at least occasionally carry and use, a couple Spydercos a lot rarer than any Sprint Run. And, unless your a Collectors Club member and are building a pristine set of knives with matching numbers, the number adds little, if anything, to the value. Some folks will even avoid CC#d knives. So I'd say if it feels good in your hand, use it.

As for the rest, IMHO, 50% lock up sounds normal. The compression lock does not wear in the same way a liner or conventional framelock wears. Any color will fade over time if exposed to enough sunlight, but that's really only a problem for knives kept in display cases near windows. On the other hand, the blue, like all the light color peel ply G-10, does tend to get grubby looking rather quickly. Nail brush, soap, and water will fix that.
Paul