Cleaning folding knives in soap water

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
davibocce

Cleaning folding knives in soap water

Post by davibocce »

Ok, my first thread after lurking around and commenting in other threads for a while :)

First up, a little introduction - I am a knife newbie and have been learning as much as I can from others who are knowledgeable about knives, and there are a lot of you in this forum! So, a big thanks to the regulars here and to Spyderco for running this great forum! I bought my first spyderco, and also my first serious knife, a few months ago. It's a humble Tenacious :) . And despite the low price, it's a very nice and sturdy knife. I've been carrying it on me a lot and really liking it. I've also acquired a few other Spydies since then and am becoming a fan - although I try to make sure every knife I get serves a purpose - this may change sooner than later as I read more and more of this forum and crave one Spydie after another :D

So, here is my question:

Many people recommend rinsing/washing a knife in soap water to clean it. But I've always wondered whether it would lead to rusting - I mean, you can wipe off water from the blade and handle, but what about the pivot area where you cannot get to without dissembling the knife? Especially on a lot of knives with steel liners, there are metal on metal contact at the pivot, between the blade steel, washers, and liner steel. I would imagine there will be a small amount of water stay in that area for a few hours at least. Would that lead to rust (especially after repeatedly cleaning), based on your experience? Do I need to blow dry the knife thoroughly afterward? Or, perhaps the blade/liner steel are stainless enough that this would be a non issue?

I wanted to use my Spydies for food prep (flat grind!!) but haven't done so because of this doubt I have - I know, I am probably being a bit paranoid here... Would appreciate if you can share your experience!