Which knife makes the best Workhorse?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
tomahawk23

Which knife makes the best Workhorse?

Post by tomahawk23 »

Hello everybody. I am new to this forum as well as being new to Spyderco knives in general. I have been a warehouse manager for over ten years and now I'm looking for another line of work while I work as a mechanic at a bowling ally.
I am always in need of a knife, and not just for cutting either... scraping, prying, you name it. Not to mention the variety of materials that I am required to cut, cardboard, wood, rope, wires, heavy plastic zip-ties...etc.
Anyway, I went through quite a few of the cheaper models of knives. I broke Gerbers in half. I dulled bucks beyond repair. I even bent a CRKT m16 at the tip cutting through cardboard.
All of this until I bought a Cold Steel XL Voyager... This thing cuts through schools! Its got the 5 inch clip point blade made from VG-1 Stainless. Its huge! Thats the problem. Its too big! Whenever I pull it out everyone backs up two feet... or comments on how I look like a murderer with it in my hand.
So... when my buddy, who is a Sheriffs Deputy (also an avid Cold Steel fan) bought a Police model Spyderco with the Stainless Steel handle, I was impressed. He let me hold it for a couple of days to see if I liked it and I was hooked.
Two days later I bought a Spyderco Atlantic Salt Plain Edge. I have always likes the way the spydies looked since I saw the one in Cliffhanger! I just couldn't resist the thought of a knife that would NEVER RUST and would become better with more use (plus, I love the way it looks like a straight razor).

So... My Question to you is which Spyderco makes the best workhorse?
stonyman

Post by stonyman »