Krav Maga - anybody have experience?

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
GradeMaker

Krav Maga - anybody have experience?

Post by GradeMaker »

I've been considering investing some time and money in order to begin to learn some form of martial art with my motivation being principally SD. I've stumbled upon Krav Maga and while I understand it is not a 'true' MA in the usual sense, I am somewhat intrigued. I've come to respect the opinions of a number of people here on the subject of SD and MA and so before I make a decision one way or the other I thought I'd seek the qualified counsel of anyone here who'd be so kind as to share his or her thoughts. I'd be much obliged.
Lostification
Location: Sunset Beach - Haleiwa - Oahu - Hawaii - USA - Earth - Milky Way - 2ZS467 XD1 211 - Ä↔ôáÖºî±&#

Post by Lostification »

I have some experience in Krav Maga.

I watched some on Human Weapon on TV, haha! I'm an expert now! :p
Para-Military - CPM S30V
Delica - VG-10
Tasman Salt - H1
Piet.S

Post by Piet.S »

My wife practices Krav Maga.
Indeed it is not an MA, it is based on reallife situations. (no pun intendet)
It is mean, lowdown, dirty and effective.
All your knifelinks, http://www.knifelinksportal.com
Capt. Carl

Post by Capt. Carl »

Seems to me like they just do slow simulated drills most of the time with no sparring, maybe some unrealistic scenario to practice the moves. If I were wanting to learn some self defense, I'd do something that gets you sparring and getting used to the pace of fighting and will build your skills, strength, and speed. I would consider something like Boxing or muay thai. I think most importantly is a a type of ground fighting like JiuJitsu or catch wrestling.
Stenny

Post by Stenny »

Largely depends on the teacher... as always. KM in itself is a pretty good SD option, but it relies on closed fist striking a lot, you have to be comfortable with that - I am not, so I opted for PT Kali.