Help me pick a new knife

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
kb0rrg

Help me pick a new knife

Post by kb0rrg »

I had decided that I want a new knife. I have been carrying a seraded Spyderco Rescue for 6 years. The rescue is a good knife, but maybe it is time to try someting different. I have though about a plain edge rescue, but it would be nice to have a tip once in a while.

1) I have decided that I want a plain edge. It is better for my needs.

2) I am accustome to my rescue with a 3 5/8" blade. Everything smaller just feels too small to me. Occationally I go to Seattle where the legal limit is 3.5" Technically the rescue is 1/8" too long, but 1/8" is kinda splitting hairs.

3) I want to stay with the tip up theme.

4) I would like to try a Stainless Steel handle.

5) The uses is: EDC, primary daily cutting, and self-defense if need be.

6) under $80

I thought about the Endura, but the tip is too fine. I like the progrip, but it is tip down and the blade is less than 3".

What do you suggest?
GlockDoc

Post by GlockDoc »

kbOrrg,
I went into the "city" yesterday and stopped at my favorite knife store there. Among the knives I handled were the ProGrips, FRN and stainless. I must say that I was impressed with the stainless one. It has a good solid feel and with the Krayton inserts in the handle and clip not at all slippery like the other stainless handled Spydercos. The tip up or down is a personal choice and it doesn't take long to get used a change.

I wanted one but the loan company (read wife) said that I was over the limit on knives this month.

Happy Shopping!

"I just thought of something. What if this thing can read minds?" "He's gonna be real mad when he gets to me." THE THING
Blades

Post by Blades »

What about the Vesuvius?? I believe it is tip up, and it has a 3 1/8" blade. No steel handle, but a nice knife.

Blades

Edited by - Blades on 10/5/2001 8:28:15 PM
chinook

Post by chinook »

A couple of aluminum handled choices come to mind.