G-10 over the years...

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
xrob

G-10 over the years...

Post by xrob »

Hello all,

I've been buying Spyderco knives since 1996 or so and am just loving the new models coming out. I have a question about one model from back in the old days, the G-10 Harpy.

When I bought this knife back in 1997 (or so), after using it for just a few weeks I remember the G10 handles started to turn grey and were not as tacky as they were when the knife was new. I ended up trading it for a pro-venator, but I digress...

I just got a black Dodo a few months ago and was pleased to see this "greying" is not happening.

Has there been any advance or improvements in the actual G-10 materials being used over the last 6-8 years? I loved the G-10, but was not pleased with what happened to the Harpy. Is this a normal occurrence for this material, or was this just a characteristic of the (then) new G-10 handles? Or, did I just get a strange piece of G-10? I was considering picking up this knife again, or perhaps getting a rookie, but I thought I would check and see first.

Thanks in advance for the info,

xrob
The Deacon

Post by The Deacon »

Only got into this about two years back. All I can tell you for certain is that I currently own a range of G10 Models, from some of the earliest unlined specimens to the SpyKer. Out of them, only one ever "greyed out" like your Harpy, and I strongly suspect that some "dressing" put on by the previous owner was the cause. I have heard that the surface can dry out, so another possibility might be excess heat in transport or storage.
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!
cheez

Post by cheez »

If they grey out, put some oil on 'em. Makes em look like new.
"I sold my voice to pay for my security. Now I write my sentences on its walls." - Jason Cruz
Burnett

Post by Burnett »