Question about how to store documents/objects properly

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Xformer

Question about how to store documents/objects properly

Post by Xformer »

Hey people,

I know some people here like to store important stuff and are probably savvy about this subject.

I have some important papers (degrees and stuff) I would like to store in a vault. Only thing I'm afraid of is water flooding (common in my area), so I bought some waterproof bags to put the documents in it. Since the bags will be sealed, I would like to know if there's any risk for the documents, like oxydation or document degradations over years ? I'm not an engineer, so maybe there's something I'm missing here.

Same goes for a Nintendo Switch and some games I'd like to put aside.

Thanks !
rangefinder

Re: Question about how to store documents/objects properly

Post by rangefinder »

I'm not actively collecting any more, but at one time I was buying a lot of comics so I'm familiar with storing paper items.

I would not store them in a completely airtight bag. Even "slabbed" comics (such as those graded by https://www.cgccomics.com/) are not airtight. Store paper items in a properly sized storage bag or rigid sleeve with an acid-free backing board. Archival quality bags/sleeves are made of Mylar. You can find different size bags/sleeves/boards (comic size, magazine size, etc.) at collectible comic/card stores or online. When I was actively collecting, "E. Gerber" products (https://www.egerber.com/) was the gold standard for Mylar bags, but there are probably other makers out there now.