Advice for new knife designers

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
kriscole

Advice for new knife designers

Post by kriscole »

Hey everyone. I’m new to using a forum, but a huge knife and gun nut. I’ve done countless hours of internet scouring for info that it seems is overly bountiful here. This is very very exciting for me so I just want to say that I’m grateful to be here. That being said, I could use some insight. I am an aspiring knife designer as well as knife maker. I can do a lot of custom work to existing knives, but I’m trying to do more. I really want to be able to design knife parts and get them made with the intention of putting together a full folding knife. I want to be able to work on my own lock designs so I can put together a “model” that I could possible recreate to sell eventually. That all starts however with a way to get multiple parts produced as in liners and all the other misc. parts it takes to assemble a full knife. Does anyone know where to start with a task like this? Is there a way that can be more efficient than me making my own stencils, cutting them out different metals And trying to hand make every part that could be made easily with some computer programming and a cutting machine? Anyways, some general direction would be nice. Thank you!
God • Family • Freedom
TomAiello

Re: Advice for new knife designers

Post by TomAiello »

Have you thought about 3d printing the parts, so that you have a computer file that you can continue to tweak, and parts that you can assemble into a functional scale model?
VooDooChild

Post by VooDooChild »

Get a good CNC machine. It wont be cheap. From there you can make a lot of what you need.
"Rome's greatest contribution to mathematics was the killing of Archimedes."
Naperville

Post by Naperville »