Any cyclists? Vivi? Looking to get a nice bicycle for road training

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Surfingringo

Any cyclists? Vivi? Looking to get a nice bicycle for road training

Post by Surfingringo »

Hey all, I’ve been on the hunt for awhile now looking at bicycles. I have some beautiful spots to ride in my area and I am always looking for healthy activities. I currently ride a bike everyday as a short distance commuter/“go to the store” ride but I’m thinking to get into some more serious cycling. I have some good mountain biking trails in my area but honestly, I’m more interested in road training.

I am 50 years old and I have zero experience with road bikes but I do pretty hardcore endurance training daily and between that and the thousands of miles a year on the kayak I don’t see this being an unrealistic endeavor. If I enjoy it, I will be all in. The thing is, I’m old enough to know that what I might like in real world use might be different than what looks the coolest on the showroom floor. I suspect I will favor something with a slightly more relaxed and less racy geometry? I have been looking at endurance bikes and some of the gravel bikes. I’m not looking at the gravel bikes so much for their off-road capabilities but rather for their more relaxed riding position. I would suspect this would see a minimum of 100k per week, maybe more. I want something efficient and fast but also something that is not miserable to ride.

I’ve been doing a fair bit of online research and some of the options that I have been looking at are...

Cannondale Topstone
Cannondale Synapse
Specialized Diverge
Specialized Allez
Giant Defy
Salsa Journeyman

I know there at leas a few of you who are avid riders. Any guidance would be much appreciated.
vivi

Re: Any cyclists? Vivi? Looking to get a nice bicycle for road training

Post by vivi »

Sounds like you're on the right track.