Straight razor shaving

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Pancake

Straight razor shaving

Post by Pancake »

Just did my 3rd shave with a razor. It's a slippery slope. It's something very different comparing to ,, normal,, shave with multi blade disposable cartridge razor and shaving foam in a tube.
You need time and patience. But man, it's so satisfying! Pre shave routine, building shaving lather ( I am not very good at it) and shave itself.

It is not for everyone, but if you are thinking about it, give it a try.
In the pocket: Chaparral FRN, Native Chief, Police 4 K390, Pacific Salt SE, Manix 2 G10 REX45
JD Spydo

Re: Straight razor shaving

Post by JD Spydo »

Pancake wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:00 pm
Just did my 3rd shave with a razor. It's a slippery slope. It's something very different comparing to ,, normal,, shave with multi blade disposable cartridge razor and shaving foam in a tube.
You need time and patience. But man, it's so satisfying! Pre shave routine, building shaving lather ( I am not very good at it) and shave itself.

It is not for everyone, but if you are thinking about it, give it a try.
I have a couple of straight razors myself. I was initially drawn to them because of my obsession with different types of sharpening. I had joined a forum/website that was known as www.straightrazorplace.com" From what I was told they changed their web address recently but you can still pull them up by default by using that URL.

I used to frequent the place quite often but kind of lost my enthusiasm for it. But there is a gold mine of great information about the use of straight razors and how to sharpen and maintain them on that website.