After 5 years, I'm now a Journeyman Electrician!

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
soc_monki

After 5 years, I'm now a Journeyman Electrician!

Post by soc_monki »

For me it's seemed really quick. Started not knowing a thing, now I look back and wonder why I was so nervous! Took five long years, worked in Mississippi (my home state!), Kentucky, and Maryland and Virginia. Lots of long days, did a month straight of 10 hours days at one time (good money!). Spent lots of money on tools, lots of time on homework and studying (and more than half of that stuff I can barely remember!) and it all came down to taking my hands on test this past Tuesday.

Friend of mine (and possibly business partner soon) took it and failed the first go around. That really worried me, since some of the stuff he had more experience in the field with. But I shouldn't have been so nervous. We had practiced off and on all this past school year.

I went in at 9 am, I got 3 hours to finish, and aside from a few flubs that I fixed before asking to be graded, I passed! Perfect score as far as I know (I didn't look, I was just happy I could now call myself a Journeyman!)

I also got co-top graduate (tied with another in my class), and received a set of engraved linemans pliers and a new multimeter. Not bad! I don't really like getting a lot of attention, I just do my best and would rather not be put on a pedestal, makes me uncomfortable! But I was proud that I made it through the program!

Anyone else here in the trades? Union, non-union, doesn't matter. We're all out there to make a living! Electrician, iron worker, pipe fitter or millwrights? I have friends in all, so don't be shy!
:respect Spyderco : Resilience, Tenacious, Persistence, Manix 2 G10, Para 3 G10, Para 3 LW, Paramilitary 2,