Chinese Products...

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Eli Chaps

Chinese Products...

Post by Eli Chaps »

I just replied to a thread with what was probably a too long-winded response about patents and China and as much as I said in that, I haven't worked it all out of my system yet.

Nick Shabazz posted a YouTube video today in which he commented that for over $100 there's really no quality difference between a US knife and a Chinese knife. His assertion is that knife buying of decent quality is no longer a matter of geography. In that pure argument, I will accept he's largely correct. The Chinese are well capable of producing high-quality goods and they are increasingly focusing on that very market in all goods.

I am not a manufacturing isolationist by any means and I fully recognize that the world has evolved into a global economy. I make my living in manufacturing and I welcome this landscape. Manufacturing is highly globally integrated. I do not get overly caught up in the "Made in the USA" hype as it is my experience that these days it is largely just a slogan.

A Volvo tractor-trailer chuck full of parts and components from all around the world shows up at our factory carrying metals from South Africa, Germany, Austria, Canada, USA, etc. A forklift with parts from all over the world, likely even some from our own plant, moves it around and it gets fed into machines from all over the world and so on and so on and so on...

We are in the age of a global economy and it is largely a good thing.

Then there is China. China steals patents, their government supplements their businesses, and they essentially enslave people. They manipulate their money and play hardball global politics that make the playing fields highly uneven.