Computer tech question: Why this error message?

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
User avatar
SpyderEdgeForever
Member
Posts: 6301
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: USA

Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby SpyderEdgeForever » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:31 pm

For any of you friends here who are very computer savvy, explain this one, please:

Periodically, when I do any sort of web searches, or sometimes when I try to open up the Spyderco website, as well as do searches on browsers, there is some lag, and then this message screen appears on the browser window:

THIS PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED

This page can’t be displayed

•Make sure the web address http://spyderco.com is correct.
•Look for the page with your search engine.
•Refresh the page in a few minutes.


That is what pops up.

What could be causing this? This happens to me repeatedly, I would say at least several times when I am online doing any sort of web searches.

I then go and either reboot or restart, or, I close all the windows, and try to re open a browser. Sometimes it works, other times I keep getting that same "This page can't be displayed."

Any ideas?

User avatar
remnar
Member
Posts: 2044
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:32 pm
Location: TheNorthWest

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby remnar » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:50 pm

I'm no tech gure but if you're trying to access the Spyderco page between 10 pm and about 10:30pm pacific time, then you'll get that message because the Spyderco servers are doing some sort of automated maintenance.

You may also see that message if you have a bad/slow connection on your end or on the other end of the connection.

User avatar
chuckd
Member
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby chuckd » Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:28 pm

It depends on the error code mostly, as the error messages can vary more so. I would guess it is a 503 being returned, and if that correlates with remnar's comment, then that would indicate that the servers were down and possibly for maintenance.

Here is a good reference for status codes in case you are interested: https://www.w3.org/Protocols/rfc2616/rfc2616-sec10.html

User avatar
The Deacon
Member
Posts: 25469
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Upstate SC, USA
Contact:

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby The Deacon » Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:59 am

If it's happening on multiple websites, and you're using addresses you know are correct, then the cause is probably somewhere other than the website itself. Could be an issue somewhere between your computer and your ISP. Are you using a computer, or handheld device? Are you using a dial up connection, DSl modem, cable modem, satellite modem, high speed modem + wireless router, or something else?
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!

User avatar
Doc Dan
Member
Posts: 10690
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:25 am
Location: In a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity.

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby Doc Dan » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:33 am

It happens to me all the time, too. Especially on the Spyderco site and a couple of others like Knifecenter and etc.
I Pray Heaven to Bestow The Best of Blessing on THIS HOUSE, and on ALL that shall hereafter Inhabit it. May none but Honest and Wise Men ever rule under This Roof! (John Adams regarding the White House)

Follow the Christ, the King,
Live pure, speak true, right wrong, follow the King--
Else, wherefore born?" (Tennyson)


https://www.facebook.com/fallplanet Author page

Telegram Channel: https://t.me/dandocthomas

NRA Life Member
Spydernation 0050

User avatar
SpyderEdgeForever
Member
Posts: 6301
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby SpyderEdgeForever » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:59 pm

Thank you for the answers.

Deacon: When it happens it is always when I am using the computer with a cable modem, with a router, both wire-based. And it happens at times when I am viewing multiple websites, but sometimes even when I am viewing one website alone.

Chuck, thanks for the status code site.

User avatar
Doc Dan
Member
Posts: 10690
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:25 am
Location: In a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity.

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby Doc Dan » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:01 pm

I use wifi.
I Pray Heaven to Bestow The Best of Blessing on THIS HOUSE, and on ALL that shall hereafter Inhabit it. May none but Honest and Wise Men ever rule under This Roof! (John Adams regarding the White House)

Follow the Christ, the King,
Live pure, speak true, right wrong, follow the King--
Else, wherefore born?" (Tennyson)


https://www.facebook.com/fallplanet Author page

Telegram Channel: https://t.me/dandocthomas

NRA Life Member
Spydernation 0050

User avatar
demoncase
Member
Posts: 2596
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:07 am
Location: England- Wolverhampton
Contact:

Re: Computer tech question: Why this error message?

Postby demoncase » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:49 am

Have you contacted the Adeptus Mechanicus to appease the machine-spirit within?

Have you resanctified the blessed machine using the Prayer To The Ommnissiah and the correct anointing oils?
Warhammer 40000 is- basically- Lord Of The Rings on a cocktail of every drug known to man and genuine lunar dust, stuck in a blender with Alien, Mechwarrior, Dune, Starship Troopers, Fahrenheit 451 and Star Wars, bathed in blood, turned up to eleventy billion, set on fire, and catapulted off into space screaming "WAAAGH!" and waving a chainsaw sword- without the happy ending.

https://www.instagram.com/commissarcainscoffeecup/


Return to “Off-Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FourStringFiend and 6 guests