Anyone carve wooden spoons?

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
phillipsted

Anyone carve wooden spoons?

Post by phillipsted »

I started to get into carving wooden spoons lately. It is a very relaxing and therapeutic activity after a long day at work. I'm a relative newbie at this, although I did a fair bit of carving years ago. A lot of folks carve spoons out of green wood, but I've been carving them out of scrap cutoffs salvaged from the bins of my local hardwood dealer/cabinetmaker. I finish them by coating them in Odie's Oil (a food-safe mixture of beeswax and mineral oil), letting it soak in, wiping them down, then letting them air cure for a week before use. Here are some of my most recent creations - all of which are in use in my kitchen.

From left-to-right and top-to-bottom:

1. Ladle made from a piece of oddly-shaped mahogany 12/4 millwork

2. Small spoon made from a different hunk of mahogany

3. Pancake turner carved from a piece of 6/4 x 6" bloodwood

4. Small ladle from a different piece of scrap bloodwood

5. Two "scraper" spoons carved from the same piece of walnut

Anyone else into hand-carving utensils?

TedP

=====

.357 mag

Re: Anyone carve wooden spoons?

Post by .357 mag »

Wow!! Great work! How are you "digging" out the spoon. I've heard of burning them out and well as scooping them out.
Pinetreebbs

Post by Pinetreebbs »

That is some excellent work!
OldSarSwmr

Post by OldSarSwmr »

Great looking utensils Ted. The ladle and the pancake flipper are my favorite!
SpyderNut

Post by SpyderNut »

Beautifully done, Ted. I've always wanted to give spoon/utensil carving a try.
Evil D

Post by Evil D »

Never have but I would love to get into it, I just need the proper wood and a gouge to cut out the spoon portion. I would love to cook with utensils I made myself.
phillipsted

Post by phillipsted »