What grit Stones?

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
buzzanr

What grit Stones?

Post by buzzanr »

hey guys,
I'm kind of new at this whole knife game and recently I a set of Arkansas stones that go up to 1000 grit...is that enough or what?...Also, I don't really know to much about sharpening in general so any help there would be great too.
Thanks guys
razorsharp

Post by razorsharp »

They should do fine - arkansas stones ate a bit harder to get scary edges on compared to some materials but when you get your technique down, you'll have some scary hair popping edges :D
JD Spydo

Arkansas STones are pretty much antiquated

Post by JD Spydo »

Well "buzzanr" I don't mean to pop your bubble but the Arkansas Stones for the most part with the exception of the very hardest and most fine grade are pretty much obsolete by today's standards. Your Arkansas Stones are made of a mineral/rock known as "novaculite".

When you look at "novaculite" on the "Moh's Hardness Scale" they are way down the chart compared to the modern high alumina ceramic stones like the ones that Spyderco uses. They are also very slow to work with compared to diamond stones and ceramic stones.

I personally have one Arkansas Stone left in my line up of stones. It is called the "blue-black" ultra-fine grade and I was told by a guy who used to work for one of the mining companies that extremely high grade "novaculite" was mined out years ago. The really good grades of novaculite is also extremely hard to find and hasn't been available commercially in years.

If you are serious about sharpening I would definitely take a look at Spyderco's superior grade ceramic stones. And I would also take serious look at high grade diamond stones like Norton, 3M, or DMT.