Can a knife be too sharp?

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
tautisg1

Can a knife be too sharp?

Post by tautisg1 »

Hey everyone.
So, I just finished sharpening my edc as the knives were getting dull ( standard Manix 2 with convex edge and Kabar Dozier with convex edge). I finished them with 2000 grit sandpaper and they can both shave hair easily. That is the sharpness level I like my knives at. Now, while sharpening I had this really strange thought pop in my head. If you kept sharpening a knife for a REALLY long time on really high grit stones/sand paper (6000 grit plus), and then stropped it for like 5 hours, could a knife be so sharp that it wouldnt cut? You would have eliminated the vast majority of the micro serrations, so in theory, how would the knife cut? I am no expert on this, and would love to hear people's opinions on this :)
The Deacon

Post by The Deacon »

A knife can never be "too sharp", but it can be too sharp for a given use. There's a point at which a knife will be too sharp to cut certain materials effectively, and a point at which it might be too sharp to cut them safely. I doubt there's such a thing as too sharp to slice garlic paper thin, but I find a blade with a slightly "toothy" edge cuts through the skin of a ripe tomato more effectively than one with a highly polished edge. Cutting a sandwich in half for your kids while it's sitting on a paper plate balanced on your lap is going to be considerably safer with a relatively dull blade. Same with slicing up a sheet cake on a Tupperware tray, especially if the Tupperware belongs to someone else.
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!
tautisg1

Post by tautisg1 »

I definately agree with what you said. For example, a really polished, sharp edge will not cut cut rope as effectively as a knife sharpened at 600 grit.
Dr. Snubnose