Micarta Question

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Lord vader

Micarta Question

Post by Lord vader »

I was thinking of changing out some scales on a couple of knives and using Micarta, and before I do,I need to know how well micarta holds up to moisture,perspiration,etc.And how tuff is this stuff is in general?I have never used this material before and just need some personal reviews from more experienced users.
2cha

Post by 2cha »

Incredibly tough. Here's a link to a knifemaker's attempt to make his own natural fiber and resin (i.e., micarta) handle material and how his held up to everything from sledgehammers to .38s. It didn't hold up to .44 mags ;(

http://www.fendleyknives.com/LM105_tough.htm

When canvas micarta gets wet, I've found I actually get a BETTER grip because the exposed fibers soak up just a bit of moisture and swell taking the micarta from a smooth finish to a textured finish, exactly when you need it.
The Deacon

Post by The Deacon »

I've carried a burgundy micarta Jester on my key ring since 2003. It has been dropped numerous times to the pavement, banged around in my pocket, and generally been treated less than kindly. It has one small chip from one of the falls but, aside from that, would be hard to tell from one of my BNIB spares. Micarta has been used on kitchen knives for over 70 years, so I don't think moisture, regardless of source, would ever be an issue. I have noticed that white micarta tends to develop brownish stains around the pins. Have a hunch it's from lubricant. And, as with CF and G-10, prolonged exposure to sunlight can cause it to fade. Beyond that, the stuff is pretty much bulletproof.
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!
Enkidude

Post by Enkidude »