A question for michael janich about FMA

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
Hissatsu5

A question for michael janich about FMA

Post by Hissatsu5 »

What is or is there a diffence between Eskrima ,Kali ,Arnis and Pekiti-Tirsia thank you for your time
psychophipps

Post by psychophipps »

The names, for the most part. You will find strong similarities among all those arts in a large portion of the methodolgy, if not necessarily philosophy.
Dr. Snubnose

Post by Dr. Snubnose »

Hissatsu5 wrote:What is or is there a diffence between Eskrima ,Kali ,Arnis and Pekiti-Tirsia thank you for your time
I am not MJ of course but I am a FMA Instructor. Eskrima, Kali (an ancient name) and Arnis, meaning Armour, or Arnis De Mano, meaning Armour of the Hands, are all different terms to describe the Filipino martial arts. Pekiti-Tirsia, is the name of particular system of Kali. There exist many different systems from the southern , central and northern parts of the Philippines. All have a slightly different emphasis and stylistic techniques, all will have single and double stick techniques, Sword and Dagger, double dagger, empty hand techniques, stylistic floor patterns and disarming. Some styles use a variety of bladed weapons and some longer poles and different styles will use different length Rattan sticks ranging from 24"-32".....Doc :D
"Always Judge a man by the way he treats someone who could be of no possible use to him"

*Custom Avatar with the Help of Daywalker*
Hissatsu5

Post by Hissatsu5 »

Thank you for ur insight and I am a knife guy and a Balisong guy and I hear the terms being used and was never sure if they were used interchangeable or if their was a difference like karate and joudo
Michael Janich

Post by Michael Janich »

Sorry for the slow response--I was out all last week doing a military show at Ft. Benning and visiting with the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit.