micro-beveling - when to reprofile?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
sethwm

micro-beveling - when to reprofile?

Post by sethwm »

So I've been using a Golden Stone for a couple months now and I love it. Prior to this, I'd always used the KME when it's time to resharpen. I practice freehanding (on an 800 grit naniwa) on a VG-10 wharncliffe dragonfly, but I'm not good enough at it yet to subject my other knives to that.

Anyway, when using the KME, I do like 17 degrees per side, and I think that's generally what I see the spyderco factory edge at. So the Golden stone is definitely a micro-bevel. As I do more and more micro-bevelling, I'm sure I'm eating into that primary bevel more and more such that I'm getting thicker and thicker behind the edge.

At what point does micro-bevelling at 20dps not do it anymore and I need to reprofile? Is this something I'll just feel as the cutting won't be as smooth? This something people do every N sharpenings regardless? Or is this something that'd take years to get to, even while sharpening twice a week with the golden stone?

Thanks and sorry if this is a rambling question.
Last edited by sethwm on Mon Sep 26, 2022 11:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
troutinCO

Re: micro-beveling - when to profile?

Post by troutinCO »

I'm in on this one for the discussion, I have basically the same question.
JRinFL

Re: micro-beveling - when to reprofile?

Post by JRinFL »

I cannot answer for anyone else, but I'm going to guess that most do it when feels like it needs to be reprofiled/bevels reset. Those who strongly prefer the effortless glide through material will reset the bevels more often. I hate to throw away "good" steel and generally find sharpening to be tedious so I will leave it much longer. Yes, I know that makes the job harder.
"...it costs nothing to be polite." - Winston Churchill
“Maybe the cheese in the mousetrap is an artificially created cheaper price?” -Sal
Friends call me Jim. As do my foes.
M.N.O.S.D. 0001