Does anyone use a S90V blade?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Hardbawl

Does anyone use a S90V blade?

Post by Hardbawl »

After searching Forum archives on S90V steel I have come up with 2 attributes. One, it is hard to sharpen. Two, it holds an edge. In my experience, if you have diamond rods for your SharpMaker, S90V is NOT hard to sharpen. What really surprised me was that after working down from in rod grit from diamond to ultra fine (forgive me, Mr. Vivi) the edge results were as good as, if not better that I could get with Cruwear. My Chief in S90V came out sharper than any knife I have ever used. Please note that I am not a sharpening expert at all. Further, I always thought that a tool steel could be made sharper than stainless. But, this Chief in S90V has made me sit up and take notice. Weekly touchup of 50 very light strokes per side on the ultra fine rods keeps the Chief sharp and take only 5 minutes. This unit is in daily use. It is not part of a rotation. I would like to know if your experience with S90V is similar? Cruwear is famous for taking an edge. Why doesn't S90V get noticed for taking an even better edge??
metaphoricalsimile

Re: Does anyone use a S90V blade?

Post by metaphoricalsimile »