Is the Sage 5 LW actually better than the Para 3 LW? A side-by-side comparison and use diary.

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
metaphoricalsimile

Is the Sage 5 LW actually better than the Para 3 LW? A side-by-side comparison and use diary.

Post by metaphoricalsimile »

It is very frequently reported in the knife world that the Sage 5 LW does everything the Para 3 LW does but better. I've been carrying and using a Para 3 LW for the last 6 months and this knife has genuinely been the knife that has killed my desire to buy other knives. Whenever I see some knife I might potentially enjoy, I ask myself "ok but how would it improve on my Para 3 LW" and usually the answer is "it won't" so I haven't really been buying knives at the pace I used to.

That being said I started a new job recently and have some disposable income, and people keep saying "if you love the para 3 you'll love the sage 5 more" so I went ahead and bought the BHQ-exclusive M4 Sage 5 with a TiCN-coated blade, mostly because I don't care for S30V and I don't care for black-handled knives, and I didn't already have an M4 knife, so it checked a bunch of boxes at once.

This thread is going to be a side-by-side comparison and use diary about the two knives in order to give other people who are making the choice between the two models more information to help make their choice.

Let's start with a few thousand words:

In the most basic analysis the knives are extremely similar: 3" blade compression lock knives with an opening hole and a forward finger choil. They are both essentially knives that represent the "spyderco recipe" for a good useful knife, compression lock flavor.