Excited Spyderco Noob...Used Knife???

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Shmohawk

Excited Spyderco Noob...Used Knife???

Post by Shmohawk »

Spyderco noob here. It took me a while but i think I finally got bit and fell down the Spydie hole.
Honestly, I've never particularly liked the look of Spydercos and that always held me back from buying one. But then...I saw the Watu and fell in love. It was beautiful and exactly what I was looking for. I know that a lot of people are scratching their heads going "Really? The Watu is what got you?".
What can I say..beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder. I got it, I used it and then I wanted more so I got the Kapara. Its probably gonna take me some time to have the the amazing quality and utility of these knives set in to the point that I will get one of the more "traditional" Spydercos but it will happen.

Getting to my question, I purchased the Kapara from a reputable knife website but when I inspected it upon receiving it I was a little disappointed. The blade had some white discolorations and markings on it, a little towards the tip and around the Spydie hole. It looked like it had been handled a lot or there is some defect in the steel. They are not very noticeable until you look at the blade in direct light. It also seem to pick up finger smudges super easy but not so easy to clean off, which is not an issue I have with the Watu or any other knife I own.
Maybe all this is normal for some blade steels and finishes?
I've tried to clean it off but to no avail. I don't want to try anything more aggressive, like polishing, until I know that I'm keeping it. There was also a tiny nick or chip in the edge of the lock release on the side closer to the liner.