Byrd knife in a Spyderco box

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Wartstein

Byrd knife in a Spyderco box

Post by Wartstein »

The Byrd Meadowlark is a knife I always like to gift to people not (yet) into knives.

- They tend to not carry something large as their first EDC folder, and the Meadowlark is small, but still of a useful size
- It has a steel that is really good for learning how to sharpen
- It is well made, and a more expensive folder often would not make much sense, since total newbs often can´t really appreciate what´s worth more money on those (harder steel...)

So I ordered two Meadowlarks again lately - funnily, one came in the usual green and black Byrd box, the other one though in a red and black Spyderco box. (see pics below)

Not an issue by any means of course, just an observation I´d thought I´d share and ask, if this happens more often (never to me so far).

EDIT: Just right now I took a look at the booklet in the Spyderco box the Byrd came in: It's actually a booklet for a Lil Subhilt!
And there seems to be another (original) sticker under that Byrd model number sticker.
So the misplacing of the Byrd can't have happened in the factory cause, well, the Lil Sub Hilts and the Byrds factory are in different Chinas... ;)

Top three going by pocket-time (update March 24):
- EDC: Endura thin red line ffg combo edge (VG10); Wayne Goddard PE (4V), Endela SE (VG10)
-Mountains/outdoors: Pac.Salt 1 SE (H1), Salt 2 SE (LC200N), and also Wayne Goddard PE (4V)
skeeg11

Re: Byrd knife in a Spyderco box

Post by skeeg11 »

Wartstein wrote:
Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:36 am
The Byrd Meadowlark is a knife I always like to gift to people not (yet) into knives.

- They tend to not carry something large as their first EDC folder, and the Meadowlark is small, but still of a useful size
- It has a steel that is really good for learning how to sharpen