Sharpening ZDP-189

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
911rsr

Sharpening ZDP-189

Post by 911rsr »

Hello ,Please if someone have any experience sharpening ZDP189 ,I have couple of DF all in ZDP and it's time to sharpen, the blade is not doll just not razor sharp ,So my question is can I get the edge back to razor sharp just whit stropping or it's needs to be sharpened on stone , I have no experience whit sharpening ,so don't know even should I try or just find someone to do it for me. Thanks
Evil D

Re: Sharpening ZDP-189

Post by Evil D »

What sharpening tools do you have? This isn't really a fun steel for a novice to learn on.
All SE all the time since 2017
~David
blueblur

Post by blueblur »

You can try stropping them but it sounds like you may need to take them to stones. I’ve only sharpened zdp a couple of times and only remember some micro chipping when removing the burr but I really don’t have enough experience to explain what you should expect. In theory, you should be able to use your standard aluminum oxide stones though.
Ramonade

Post by Ramonade »

It is hard to say without examining the edge.
Stropping works pretty well on my ZDP-189 Endura.
But if the edge has actual damage or is very dull, it needs sharpening.

I wish you luck and to find the best answers
:respect In the collection :respect : Lots of different steels, in lots of different (and same) Spydercos.

Robin. Finally made an IG : ramo_knives

MNOSD member 004* aka Mr. N5s :face-clouds
FK

Post by FK »

I struggled with my first ZDP-189 due to retained burr.
It was stubborn to detect and remove.
Sharpening on DMT diamonds and a slow careful light pressure routine solved the problem with "not sharp apex".
Suggest a 10x eye loop and small LED flashlight to inspect for burr.
ZDP-189 will sharpen up very nicely with long edge retention.

Regards,
FK
z1r

Post by z1r »