Loosening up P3LW swing?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ovgcguy

Loosening up P3LW swing?

Post by ovgcguy »

I got a Para3 LW about 3 months ago and really like it. One minor annoyance is the blade still swings with a little stick. Opening with a good thumb flick is no problem but I am unable to flick it closed with any technique of finger and/or wrist flick and/or depressing the locking bar. And I'm a strong, coordinated guy. Believe me, I've tried.
I work in a shop so keep the pivot clean with compressed air and lube with a 'dry silicone' lube/cleaner I use on my guns on a fairly regular basis.
Im a fidgeter so have cycled it open and closed probably a couple thousand times, so I would think it would have worn in if it was going to. Now that I think of it, the action hasnt really changed since new regardless of cleaning, dirt, or lube status, a testament to a well built knife.
I have not taken it apart since receiving it new.

Is there anything I can do to loosen up the swing just a tad? I can consistently get the blade 75% closed but it refuses to fully close, which would take my enjoyment of knife fidgeting to the next level. (It seems like the P3 (non-lw) swings this way in most videos I see)

Thanks in advance
SG89

Re: Loosening up P3LW swing?

Post by SG89 »

Have you tried rotating the stop pin?
Spydergirl88
3 Nats, 1 Chap, 1 Sham, 1 Urb
Sharp Guy

Post by Sharp Guy »

Have you tried loosening the pivot screw a tiny bit?
Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!
ovgcguy

Post by ovgcguy »

No, I'll try both those at work tomorrow. As of now I have not changed anything from the factory.
nerdlock

Post by nerdlock »