First Spyderco - S30v or SPY27?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Halfbore

First Spyderco - S30v or SPY27?

Post by Halfbore »

Hi all. Been Lurking for quite awhile. Signed up and still lurking. Looking at my first "good" knife. Narrowed it down to a Benchmade Griptillian or Spyderco Native 5. Leaning towards the Spyderco and today I see the Native 5 in SPY27 is back in stock on their website. I'm still learning steels (there's sooo much to learn). Between the S30v and SPY27, which would be a better choice?

Thanks.
Vince
Blnd

Re: First Spyderco - S30v or SPY27?

Post by Blnd »

Either steel would be fine. I think it comes down to handle color preferences.

I’m not a fan of the cobalt blue so I would probably go for the S30V in black.
MFlovejp

Post by MFlovejp »

I think a SPY27 Native would be a great first Spyderco and good all-around folding knife. I have one and it is a really solid user. It is definitely easier to sharpen than S30V too, which is a plus.
Current Carries: Military 4V, Stretch XL Cruwear, Sage 1 CF, Siren Sprint S90V, ZDP Delica
Wishlist: Cruwear Military, Super Blue Caly 3.5
Favorite Steels: CTS-XHP, Cruwear, ZDP-189, LC200N
p_atrick

Post by p_atrick »

If you are okay with the LW model, I would go SPY27. If you are going to get a Spyderco, I say get their proprietary steel (you can get S30V from other brands). It should be a bit easier to sharpen and will have better edge stability. That said, S30V is not an impossible steel to sharpen (I do so on a regular King stone) and I haven't had any issues with chipping.
TomAiello

Post by TomAiello »

Welcome to the forum!

Personally, I'd go with s30v, because it's much more common in other brands, so you can get a good feel for the comparison between different knives, as you get sucked deeper down this rabbit hole. :)

If you want to try out SPY27 though, no one is going to fault you for it. My guess is that it will become much more common as Spyderco rolls it out in more models.
JRinFL