Salt 2 LC200N... Is this Normal

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
FrannaM

Salt 2 LC200N... Is this Normal

Post by FrannaM »

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Spyderco forums, but been a massive Spydie van for years. I bought a new long awaited Salt 2 LC200N PE. I waited long for this model, because to me its the ultimate EDC. Rust proof, light weight and PE slicey. The knife is perfect except for a (what seems to be) small manufacturing flaw close to the pivot. Will this cause problems long term in terms of becoming a weak spot. I know this is not a hard use folder, but still a bit concerned.

swigert

Re: Salt 2 LC200N... Is this Normal

Post by swigert »

I’m not exactly sure what you’re referring to as the possible weak spot....can you be more specific?
FrannaM

Post by FrannaM »

swigert wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 7:23 am
I’m not exactly sure what you’re referring to
I'm referring to the line cut into the tang between the lock cutout and pivot:

Pokey

Post by Pokey »

I bought a Salt 2 with a Wharncliffe blade recently. I think you're referring to the tallest "step" where the lock bar engages the tang of the blade when opened. Mine has that same small step, so it looks like they're machined that way intentionally. I just looked at a couple of my Delica 4's and they're machined the same way.

I think as the lock bar snaps into place upon opening both parts will eventually show "peening," but I imagine the blade is much harder than the lock bar, so it may show a shiny spot, but it's not going to wear very much.
FrannaM

Post by FrannaM »

Hi, I'm referring to the line cut-out underneath the lockbar cut-out. It looks like the laser malfunctioned and started cutting in the wrong place.
RamZar

Post by RamZar »