Dear Enablers - Help me decide...

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Jason Paul

Dear Enablers - Help me decide...

Post by Jason Paul »

Hi All,

I have a birthday coming up and figured I'd ask for your opinions; I have my eye on a few Spydies. I'm still pretty new to all of this as well.

I currently have two Manixes (LW & G-10) and a Sage 5 LW. I've been EDC-ing my Manix G-10 most days. I've read a lot here about serrated edges, so wanted to give that a try, and also wanted to try a wharncliffe. I'm interested in a few, but need some help with the details. I'll probably end up getting 2-3 knives.

Here's what I'm looking at, along with some ramblings and questions.

Endela SE
This one is almost a no-brainer. I'm new here, but I can already see Wartstein's eyes lighting up :) . This just seems a good option for me anyway; a good size and apparently a well-done SE.

Rock Jumper
I like that the blade goes almost to the handle, and that it's a wharncliffe, which I wanted to try anyway. The question here is whether to go with SE or PE. What I've been reading here about SE really sells it, generally; but if I'm already getting the Endela in SE, should I get another in the Rock Jumper? Then again, I've read that SE in a wharncliffe is great.

I also wonder how tall the Rock Jumper is compared to the Manix in the pocket.

So, thoughts on all of this?

Caribbean
This is what I wanted in the first place; lots for me to like. Possible issues are that it may be big in the pocket (larger than a Manix?), and what I've read about a weak detent and the possibility of it opening in the pocket. Are those real concerns at all, or just a handful of instances? Then of course, it's the most expensive by far.