Soap causing corrosion on H1??

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
kerrcobra

Soap causing corrosion on H1??

Post by kerrcobra »

I checked my shower knife earlier this morning, and I noticed that my Ladybug Salt HB appeared to have some corrosion spotting from having some suds splattered on it. I rubbed off most of it, but there is still these darker specks left that won't scrub off - anyone seen anything similar to this before or have any working theories on what might've caused it? I didn't think anything would make H1 corrode.

Pics:

--Jeremy
JRinFL

Re: Soap causing corrosion on H1??

Post by JRinFL »

I'm no expert, but that looks almost like acid etching to me. Just like when people darken other stainless steels. Is the shower cleaned with an acid based cleaner, or strong chlorine?
"...it costs nothing to be polite." - Winston Churchill
“Maybe the cheese in the mousetrap is an artificially created cheaper price?” -Sal
Friends call me Jim. As do my foes.
M.N.O.S.D. 0001
vivi

Post by vivi »

kerrcobra wrote:
Tue Jan 19, 2021 9:44 am
I checked my shower knife
?
:unicorn
kerrcobra

Post by kerrcobra »

JRinFL wrote:
Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:02 am
I'm no expert, but that looks almost like acid etching to me. Just like when people darken other stainless steels. Is the shower cleaned with an acid based cleaner, or strong chlorine?
Nope, this was just some splatter from my body wash. I do agree with you though that it looks like etching - it almost sort of feels like it too when I scrape it with my fingernail (unless I'm just psyching myself out here and imagining things).
--Jeremy
kerrcobra

Post by kerrcobra »

vivi wrote:
Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:07 am
kerrcobra wrote:
?
C'mon man - you don't have a shower knife? This is unbelievable. Are you telling me that I'm the only one in the world with a shower knife!?

forgot the /s
--Jeremy
bobnikon

Post by bobnikon »

okay... I will ask... shower knife? I carry almost everywhere, but... shower knife???
PStone