Help me clean my 20 year old Walker

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
bruce91748

Help me clean my 20 year old Walker

Post by bruce91748 »

Hi All,
I've been carrying this Walker for over 20 years and it's been with me to at least 50 fishing trips and got lots of sand trapped inside the pivot area (edge is still super sharp). The AUS8 is still in great shape and no rust inside the knife that I can see. I've used electronic cleaner spray to clean out as much as I could but when I open the blade, I still hear the grinding sound of the sand inside the pivot. I really need to take the knife apart but looks like pins or rivets were used on the handle, so how does one take it apart?
Attachments
20201104_153314.jpg
20201104_153326.jpg
DSH007

Re: Help me clean my 20 year old Walker

Post by DSH007 »

Wow, looks great for its age Bruce! Nice!

Unfortunately, without sending your knife in to Spyderco, you're probably going to be SOL on disassembly due to the pinned construction. If compressed air alone isn't working for you, I'd recommend cleaning your knife with hot soapy water (dish soap works great), using a small brush, toothpick, qtip, etc., to loosen any debris around the pivot, and then blowing/drying it out thoroughly with compressed air. If that doesn't work, it may be worth it to you to send it in to Spyderco to see if they can open it up and get it back to 100% for you.

For me personally, a little grit in the pivot of a user isn't a major concern.. I've gotten sand in pivots before and it usually works its way out on its own with time or minimal cleaning..just keep on using it! Oh, and welcome to the forum! :)
Rick H.

..well, that escalated quickly..
JRinFL

Post by JRinFL »