VG-10?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Kloeshuman

VG-10?

Post by Kloeshuman »

So I'm pretty new to spyderco, what are the pros and cons of VG-10? If there is any. How does it hold an edge ? Easy to sharpen? I have a delica se ATS-55 now and was looking at picking up a delica pe VG-10 frn zome green. Let me know your thoughts
Thanks
sal

Re: VG-10?

Post by sal »

Hi Kloeshuman,

Welcome to our forum.

sal
Evil D

Post by Evil D »

Holds an edge better than ATS-55, still quite easy to sharpen. Takes a very fine edge. I think if you like ATS-55 you'll be happy with VG10.
All SE all the time since 2017
~David
Wartstein

Post by Wartstein »

Kloeshuman wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:37 pm
So I'm pretty new to spyderco, what are the pros and cons of VG-10? If there is any. How does it hold an edge ? Easy to sharpen? I have a delica se ATS-55 now and was looking at picking up a delica pe VG-10 frn zome green. Let me know your thoughts
Thanks
Welcome! :)

I am not a steel expert at all (but I am sure some will chime in)

That being said: VG10 is still among my most favorite EDC steels... very easy to sharpen, gets scary sharp even if one is not a mastersharpener (and I am NOT), tough enough and in my use totally rustproof (this is not true for all folks though and probably not in salt water enviroment).

Edge holding is not the strong side of this steel, but decent imho

I´d recommend getting a sharpmaker for sharpening and I personally would go with the serrated wharnie Delica...

(EDIT for spelling)
Last edited by Wartstein on Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top three going by pocket-time (update March 24):
- EDC: Endura thin red line ffg combo edge (VG10); Wayne Goddard PE (4V), Endela SE (VG10)
-Mountains/outdoors: Pac.Salt 1 SE (H1), Salt 2 SE (LC200N), and also Wayne Goddard PE (4V)
Sonorum

Post by Sonorum »

VG10 gets really sharp, really easy and holds it for an ok amount of time. Everything is better with a serrated edge!
/ David