Quick intro, and recommendations :)

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
mtb2104

Quick intro, and recommendations :)

Post by mtb2104 »

Newbie here... Planted the seed of Spyderco only in late July 2020 due to the pandemic, and it grew very quickly. :D

Got Para 3 as the 1st real knife.. I wasn't really sure about the unique shape at first, but it definitely grows on me as it's just so comfy in hand!

Then I learned about Lil' Native and got it for its size and Compression Lock (which I learned to love on the Para 3) and steel liner + G10 (which gave a very solid feeling). I got Sharpmaker too at the same time, and sharpened wife's kitchen knife with success! :D

As I studied more about knife metals, I learned about LC200N, and hunted down a SpydieChef. It just felt awesome in hand.. the built quality is great, and it's comfy and smooth. The closing action is really hydraulic-ish! Really a special piece, esp when it's only my 3rd real knife, and 1st with RIL.

Given how special the SpydieChef is, I wanted something else with LC200N, and that brought me to Native 5 LW salt version. I wasn't very sure about FRN, the lack of phosphor bronze washers, and the YELLOW scales, but it was the only option. So I got it nevertheless. It is honestly more solid than I anticipated! Backlock is solid, and is actually easier to operate than expected. The blade clicks with authority, and I guess the sound might have been amplified by the FRN structure to some extend too.

But the scale colour and the lack of washers are still on my mind, so I may end up getting a G10 liner-less Native 5 and do a blade swap. Here I seek your feedback & recommendations on FRN vs G10+washer:

1. I suppose FRN eventually will wear thin (plastic on metal), and the tolerance will grow. Do we just tighten the pivot and it will be good to go for X amount of time?