Poor experience with LC200N edge?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Shramp

Poor experience with LC200N edge?

Post by Shramp »

Hello,

I am a new member. I've lurked for a while and have enjoyed the expertise and experience that members share on this board. I was curious if anyone had a similar experience with LC200N:

I recently bought a spydiechef new. I noticed that LC200N might be particularly poor in edge stability when I cut through about 8ft of moderately thick cardboard the other day. Because of the grain of the cardboard the blade didn't go completely straight through, it sort of turned a few degrees in one direction to match the grain of the material. I didn't think anything of it at the time but later when I looked about a third of an inch the tip of the blade I found that light reflected off of the edge, suggesting that it was either blunted or rolled or something. I'm new to sharpening but I used the fine sharpmaker stones at 40 degrees inclusive and a strop to set the edge better than new. I was happy with the polish I could get from the edge with my modest tools and technique.

But then today after I used the blade to cut through some paper as well as an onion I found what I believe to be a chip near the tip. It was shallow but it seemed more like a chip than a roll or simply blunting. It took a long time to regrind the edge with the medium sharpmaker stones (40 degrees inclusive again) and now it seems back to an okay place. I honed it and stropped it back but these two experiences have me concerned with both the edge stability and toughness of LC200N. I'm very careful with my blade, so much so that I can't actually imagine how I would be more careful to take care of the steel.

Perhaps I'm being anal about what my edge actually looks like, but it seems bizarre to me that I should have to grind down the edge after a week of cutting through some cheese, some fruits, paper, tape, and ~8ft of cardboard.