Different Serration Patterns on Wharncliffe Delica4 LW - (C11FSWCBK)

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
JMM

Different Serration Patterns on Wharncliffe Delica4 LW - (C11FSWCBK)

Post by JMM »

I was curious about why there are two completely different serration patterns on the Wharnie Delica as shown below...

...I received one today that looks like the second image. Does anyone know why the two patterns? Is it a CQI thing? Is one better than the other? I am relatively new to the whole SE world, and am just wondering any specifics on the differences in general I guess. TIA! :D

Cheers,

John
tbdoc4kids

Re: Different Serration Patterns on Wharncliffe Delica4 LW - (C11FSWCBK)

Post by tbdoc4kids »

What are the date codes for each?
JMM

Post by JMM »

I only have the one I got today...

JRinFL

Post by JRinFL »

JMM wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:36 pm
I was curious about why there are two completely different serration patterns on the Wharnie Delica as shown below...

...I received one today that looks like the second image. Does anyone know why the two patterns? Is it a CQI thing? Is one better than the other? I am relatively new to the whole SE world, and am just wondering any specifics on the differences in general I guess. TIA! :D

Cheers,

John
I seem to remember someone saying the early pictures are often of pre-production models. I’m guessing this is the case here.
It was also discussed that the wheel used to create the serrations wears during use so there is always some variation in serrated edges over the lifetime of the sharpening wheel. Those with more knowledge will comment soon, I’m sure.
"...it costs nothing to be polite." - Winston Churchill
“Maybe the cheese in the mousetrap is an artificially created cheaper price?” -Sal
Friends call me Jim. As do my foes.
M.N.O.S.D. 0001
Evil D

Post by Evil D »