Difference in the wave?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
BLJace

Difference in the wave?

Post by BLJace »

Hey all,

I've owned an Endura wave for a few years now. Loved its function, ease of opening and closing, the weight and how slim it fits in the pocket. I've found i didn't use it much for a work knife though and tended to lean towards a dragonfly for basic needs (I'm a manager in a warehouse, so usually i''m cutting tape or boxes).

With the state for the world, hoping never to use it, and finally noting that I'm not using that pocket space. I picked up a Spyderco Matriarch 2.

I'm seeing a difference in the wave feature though. The "hook" on my Endura seems to be much more smoothed out and rounded. While on the Matriarch it is more jagged and catching. This could be with the way the blade is designed. I know a saber grind and hook bill are totally different grinds, not even throwing the serrated side into it.

I've never had an issue with my Endura deploying though. Even by accident when i'm just emptying my pockets at the end of the day, sometimes it catches and pops open. Now, the more jagged design on the Matriarch isn't an issue by any means. I bought this knife with the sole purpose of only pulling it out when i need it. So knowing it's going to catch it really a big plus.

I am concerned about my pockets though. We're all flashy in our own regard. Sometimes it's just the clip a few people will notice, other times; It's that beautiful moment when a "knife person" shows you that gas station knife they bought for 4$ and claim it's better than yours because it has a "seat belt cutter". Despite being made out of a cheap steel, cheap handles, and is about as comfortable to grip as a fork pushed into an electrical outlet... I digress.

The main point is I have seen a difference in the wave feature. Is there a point in one being "more catchy" than the other? Neither have failed me.

Would love to hear others thoughts.